Ethan Chastain: 2020 Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Recipient

Pictured: Marilyn Yager, RCCF Board Treasurer; Karen Brashaber, RCCF Board Member; Ethan Chastain 2020 Lilly Endowment Scholarship Recipient; Alisa Winters, Executive Director; Kristie Amos, RCCF Program Officer; Keith Perin, incoming RCCF Board Member


One Rush County student has been named the recipient of a four-year, full-tuition scholarship as the Rush County Community Foundation’s 2020 Lilly Endowment Community Scholar. This year’s recipient is the 38th Rush County student to receive a Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship.


Ethan Chastain will receive full tuition to an Indiana college of his choice and a $900 yearly stipend for required books and equipment. Ethan is one of 143 Indiana students awarded the prestigious scholarship for 2020.


Ethan is a resident of Noble Township and a senior at Rushville Consolidated High School. He is the son of Chris and Marlo Chastain. Ethan plans to attend Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology and study electric engineering.


Upon being presented the scholarship, Ethan said, “This is a life-changing gift. I am beyond grateful to be the recipient, as it will allow me to pursue my dream of attending Rose-Hulman. Attending Rose-Hulman will allow me to take advantage of opportunities that I would not otherwise have been able to. I cannot express my gratitude enough for the community and this award.”


Ethan Chastain was chosen from 21 applicants from Rush County. Academic standing, demonstrated leadership, school involvement, community involvement, and financial need all factor in the decision of the nominating committee. The Rush County Community Foundation Lilly Selection Committee uses a blind application review process and does not know the names or identifying demographic information of the students. Each application is reviewed and judged separately by three members of the committee and is judged in ten separate categories. The committee narrows the field to three top finalists and forwards their recommendation to the Board of Directors of the Rush County Community Foundation for final recommendation and submission to Independent Colleges of Indiana, Inc. (ICI) for the selection of the recipient.


ICI is a nonprofit corporation that represents 30 regionally accredited degree granting, nonprofit, private colleges and universities in the state.


The primary purposes of the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program are 1) to help raise the level of educational attainment in Indiana; 2) to increase awareness of the beneficial roles Indiana community foundations can play in their communities; and 3) to encourage and support the efforts of current and past Lilly Endowment Community Scholars to engage with each other and with Indiana business, governmental, educational, nonprofit and civic leaders to improve the quality of life in Indiana generally and in local communities throughout the state. To date, the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarship Program has awarded 4,769 scholarships totaling over $405 million to Indiana students pursuing a postsecondary education at an accredited public or private nonprofit college or university in Indiana.


Meeting the philanthropic needs of Rush County since 1991, the Rush County Community Foundation, Inc., is a nonprofit public charity established to serve donors, award grants and scholarships, and provide leadership to enrich and enhance the quality of life in Rush County, Indiana, not only today, but for our future generations.




Like this? Share it:

Comments are closed for this post.